Tags

, , , ,

Now that we have our building permit, we just have to wait for our contractor to finish his current job.  It’s supposed to be finished up by the end of this week.  I’m trying to be patient!

Meanwhile, I’m never really “off the job” when it comes to Narnia.  Today I had to run some urgent errands, but on the way home I decided to reward a job well done.  On the spur of the moment, I stopped in to a little resale shop I’ve passed many times.  I don’t have a list of anything special I’m hunting for–just anything Narnian!  This is what I found:

A mirrored Aslan . . .

. . . and a cross-stitched Jesus with little children on His knee.

They’re perfect to illustrate our theme quote:

 “I am [in your world],” said Aslan. “But there I have another name. You must learn to know me by that name. That was the very reason you were brought to Narnia, that by knowing me here for a little, you may know me better there.”  (C.S. Lewis, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader)

I couldn’t believe I found them both in the same place!

Didi has already agreed to make a frame to more securely hang the Aslan mirror, and I’ll decorate the two frames so they complement each other.

As if that wasn’t enough spoils for one day, an impromptu stop in a somewhat “Ye Olde Junque Shoppe” place in Chickamauga uncovered this little treasure right inside the front door.  The nice thing about it is that curious toddler fingers can explore it (while sitting on a rug, of course!) without fear of sinking the delicate ship!  A little imagination, and it’s the Dawn Treader sailing Narnian seas.

