Tags

, , , ,

Reliable Heating & Air guys arrived this morning shortly after Stuart and Todd got to work.

Before long a pile of flexible ductwork lay sprawled like silver spaghetti on the attic floor.


With four guys hard at work on two completely different things, it involved some choreography to avoid getting in each others’ way.  But before long, some of the ductwork had been threaded between the peak of the roof and the ceilings and was dangling more or less where it belonged.


The one useful thing Herb and I could do was empty out all the stuff we’d stored in the other end of the attic–right where the new AC unit needed to go.  The only place to go with the stuff was my craft room–which is now a junk room!  But that’s okay, I can give up my craft room in the name of progress.

One subject that came up was the little wall that will separate the two bed areas on each side of Narnia.  The plan for the wall is to put a porthole in each side so that when the kids open them, they can talk to each other.  Stuart said it would be good to have the portholes on hand pretty quickly.  So I checked the website I had found earlier and called with a couple of questions.  A very helpful lady helped me decide which color and size portholes to get.  As we chatted, she told me about taking her four-year old granddaughter on their boat to an island where they had buried a treasure for her to find.  What a fun grandma!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s the porthole from Seaside Treasures; four of them are due to arrive Wednesday.

The next thing I wanted to find out was how high to hang the portholes for the kids to be able to look through them while standing on the mattresses.  I wasn’t sure how tall our eldest GK is, so I googled “how tall is a four year old girl?”

This is what popped up.  Notice the bright turquoise type: “Girl 4 Year Old At Amazon” and below that “Save on Girl 4 Year Old Free 2-Day Shipping w/Amazon Prime!”  Gee whiz!  You can find anything on Amazon.com!

During one of my forays upstairs, Stuart and I talked about the Wardrobe some more.  He suggested that it might be cheaper for me to buy a real wardrobe and cut the back open than to buy doors and wood trim for them to build a wardrobe.  My original thought had been to use a real wardrobe, but then I shied away from destroying a perfectly good piece of furniture and moved in my mind toward building something.  Based on the prices I got at Interior Trim & Supply and Stuart’s estimate of building costs, it seemed I should consider going back to Plan A.

So I headed off on a wardrobe search.  Realizing such a quest could take days and require visits to countless antique stores, I committed the search to the Lord and asked Him to help me find the right wardrobe.  First I tried Reliks (where I had found one of the thrones), but their one wardrobe wouldn’t work.  Next I tried one of my favorite antique stores, East Town Antiques, and there I found a beautiful wardrobe!

It was 83″ high at the top (high enough to cover the open doorway) and 57″ wide (plenty long to cover the 42″ wide door).  In fact, its size was the problem!  We would NEVER be able to get it up the stairs.  I regretfully said so to Bob as I prepared to leave–and then he said, “But the wardrobe comes apart.”  What?  I had never heard of such a thing, but Bob said it was frequently done with large wardrobes so they could be gotten in and out of rooms. They were fastened together with metal pins inside, making them as portable as Ikea furniture!  As Herb said, that’s the perfect solution.

The final hurdle was the price.  When a phone call to the owner resulted in a nearly 25% discount, the wardrobe had found a new home.  It is now The Wardrobe!  A few minor adjustments will need to be made, but as Tim Gunn says, we’ll “make it work!”  Thank You, Lord, for this beautiful Wardrobe!

By the time I got home, work had stopped for the day with a lot to show for it.  The Lodge walls were completely framed with the shower in place.  (The vanity will go where the orange ladder is.)  The ductwork was in place in the ceiling, too.


Over in Narnia, the base plates were in place for the walls between the berths.  That’s where the portholes will go, one on each side of a wall.


You can tell the job isn’t quite done, but Aslan’s Tent has two air vents in place and the ductwork ready to join up.

Except it isn’t Aslan’s Tent anymore, but that’s another story.  Put it down to me being flexible–or maybe just plain scihizo!

