Tags

, , , , , ,

“Then God said, ‘Let lights appear in the sky to separate the day from the night.  Let them mark off the seasons, days, and years.  Let these lights in the sky shine down on the earth.’  And that is what happened.  God made two great lights–the larger one to govern the day, and the smaller one to govern the night.  He also made the stars.  God set these lights in the sky . . . and God saw that it was good.  And the evening passed and morning came, marking the fourth day.”  Genesis 1:14-19

If you count construction days, today was Day 44, but it was like the fourth day of creation.  It wasn’t quite as quick as God saying “Let there be light” and there was light.  It involved a whole day’s work by the crew from Helton Electrical, Chris, Nick and Jacob (and yes, his friends call themselves Team Jacob!)

Jacob got initiated into working at my house:  you never know when you’ll be on candid camera.  Chris and Nick already know!  After everything was cleaned up and they were gone, I gave Herb the Grand Tour.

First, Cair Paravel (can I call it the Library when there aren’t any shelves?)

You can see the great job Ben did yesterday covering the double LVL to make it look like a beam.  (I stained and poly’d the boards.)  It was really not a one man job, so David helped Ben hold the boards up.  He made cardboard templates to help him be sure of the tricky cuts and angles that were involved.

And thank you, Kara, for the beautiful light from your studio!  I took Chris and his crew over to her house this morning to “harvest” fixtures, but I made sure they knew that SHE was the one who offered them!  And I provided others they could put in for her so we weren’t leaving her in the dark.

 I love the reflections this light casts on the ceiling, and I can’t wait till the golden glaze in on the ceiling and walls to see how it looks then.

Next, on to The Lodge.

I had a limited amount of time to put the deck stain on these walls, so I made sure to do the one that would get the light fixture; no taping that way.

The main fixture still needs its fish basket, but it looks great.

Next, on to Mimi’s Cave.

We ran out of light bulbs, but I love the chandelier (another one from Kara).  And Kara, I really did tell them you were keeping the dangly crystals, but I guess they didn’t hear me.  Don’t worry, I’ll give them back.

And finally, Narnia!

The girls’ side with the Sun that Kara found in an antique store and the Lamp Post.

The boys’ side.

And a close-up one of the Dawn Treader berths with its ship-shape light for reading in bed and the porthole for bugging one’s sibling who’s trying to read in bed.

Chris and I were discussing his job, and he said he thinks he has the best job in construction because he gets to come back at the end and (after some hard work, of course) make everything look great with the flip of a switch.  I think their part is one of the most exciting because it’s such a sudden change.  The other stuff has happened gradually over 44 days, but suddenly after one single day, THIS IS REALLY LOOKING LIKE NARNIA!  This is what I’ve been seeing in my head for months and months!

