Tags

This post is a (slightly modified) email that I wrote in reply to a fellow WordPress blogger who wrote to ask a favor after I “liked” one of his posts.

Jan. 1, 2013

Dear [Fellow WordPress blogger],

I’ve done the favor you asked for in your email, and I hope you get your artwork featured in [the prestigious location].  I did it to help you, totally aside from any hope of winning anything.

Now may I ask a favor of you?  I have only been blogging on WordPress since August although I have written a Blogspot blog since Oct. 2009.  I am extremely discouraged with WordPress to the point that I literally hate it.  I only keep on because I’m blogging about a project that has a definite end.  Once it is done, I will gladly leave WordPress.

Why am I so discouraged?  Because since August I’ve been playing what I call “the WordPress game” in which people “Like” other peoples’ blogs, apparently only to get their name out there and to get “liked” back.  I follow everyone who follows my blogs and “like” everyone (except for a few that I can’t in good conscience!) that “likes” me.  In addition, I regularly make comments on blogs I have “liked.”  I’ve done this trying to make connections and find some WordPress “friends” like the Blogger “friends” I have made and because I know how much more a comment means than a mere “like.”

But guess what?  It doesn’t work on WordPress.  It seems that everyone is just out for comments and “likes” without any idea that there is a fellow blogger HUMAN on the other end of the comments and “likes.”  For the dozens and dozens of comments I have made in the past 5 months, NOT ONE SINGLE PERSON from WordPress has EVER made a comment on MY blog!  They just hit “like” and keep on going.  In fact, I question whether a single one of them has actually ever read an entire post of mine.

I’m glad you appreciated my comment.  I hope it truly encouraged you because I truly love that piece I commented about.

I noticed that your Dec. 1 post had over 1,000 “likes” to a mere 100 comments.  In the five months I’ve been on WordPress, I’ve had about 1100 total views, 97 “likes” and 11 comments.  So what am I complaining about since we’ve both gotten about 10% comments to “likes?”  Well, over half of my comments are my own replies to the FIVE (yes, 5) people who have commented on my blog!  And they are ALL personal acquaintances; not one of them is a fellow WordPress blogger!  Not ONE of the WordPress bloggers I’ve left comments for has felt motivated enough to comment on my blog!

THAT is why I’m discouraged, and that is why I replied to your email today.  I started by saying I had a favor to ask you.  You probably think the favor I want is for you to comment on one of my posts.  Well, it’s not.  I confess, that’s what I was going to say when I started writing this, but my favor has evolved as I’ve written.  Here is the favor I have to ask of you, [Fellow WordPress blogger]:

As you continue with your deservedly successful WordPress blog and your deservedly successful artwork, please don’t take your “likes” and your comments for granted.  Please be aware of the “little people,” the ordinary people, the human beings behind them.  And in your success, please be generous toward other, less successful fellow WordPress bloggers.  YOU could make all the difference to one of them!

Happy New Year and all the best to you in 2013!  I won’t make it to [prestigious location] in person, but I hope to see you there in blogland!

Your fellow WordPress blogger,

mimiswardrobe

P.S.  If you are a WordPress blogger and you “like” this post without leaving a comment, I will know that my suspicions are true and that you haven’t actually read a word I’ve written.

