Tags

versatile-blogger-awardI got home from a weekend trip to find some exciting news waiting for me.  Ionia Martin of ReadfulThingsBlog has nominated me for the Versatile Blogger award!  I’m so encouraged by her gracious nomination!  This is an “official” thank you to Ionia.  Go check out her blog and her book reviews.  She’s an avid reader who takes the time to share her reviews for the benefit of others.

The acceptance of this honor comes with a few obligations.  It reminds me of what was said to my daughter this weekend at her promotion to Captain in the Air Force JAG Corps:  “To whom much is given, much shall be required.”  🙂  This isn’t a lot, really, but here are the rules:

Versatile Blogger Rules (If you choose to accept the award)

  • Display the Award Certificate on your website
  • Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award
  • Present 15  awards to deserving bloggers
  • Drop them a comment to tip them off after you’ve linked them in the post
  • Post 7  interesting things about yourself.

I’ve already displayed the Award Certificate, and this post will fulfill the second requirement.  Here are my 15 nominations for deserving bloggers (along with a word about their blogs).  These are some of my favorite blogs:

A Holy Experience  Ann Voskamp is the author of a life-changing book, One Thousand Gifts.  Her blog carries on her life’s theme of living in thankfulness to God.

Grasspunk  Brent writes a blog about raising grass-fed Salers cattle for beef on his farm in Southwest France.  I discovered his blog through my own farm blog, Adventures on Zephyr Hill Farm, and have learned a lot about rotational grazing from him.

Midlife Farmwife  Donna has been nominated before, but she deserves it again for her informative, humorous blog about raising pigs on South Pork Ranch.  She somehow finds time to make soap in her spare time.

See Jamie Blog  Jamie is a mom who blogs about home-schooling and adoption.  She and her family are currently pursuing a foster adoption of two children.

Sugar Mountain Farm  Walter and his family raise pastured pigs in the mountains of Vermont and are in the process of building their own, amazing USDA-approved butcher shop.  I’ve learned so much from him.

Throwback at Trapper Creek  Matron of Husbandry is one of the first bloggers I discovered from my Zephyr Hill Farm blog, and I’ve been learning from her for several years about dairy cattle, rotational grazing and gardening.

Milligan’s Gander Hill Farm  Gordon is a beginning farmer who has bought a farm and is eagerly counting down the days to retirement until he can begin full-time farming.  Meanwhile he is thinking and planning and learning about raising cattle.

iGame Mom blogs reviews of apps and games for iPhones and iPads.  She shares links to the apps and generously shares info about free apps.  Many of them are educational and great for parents and grandparents to know about.

Urban Wallart & Murals  A blogger who does amazing things with spray paint!

Canadian Hiking Photography  Enjoy amazing photographs from the Canadian mountains!

Interior Builder  This blog is truly versatile, including fascinating glimpses of life in Alaska along with helpful posts about home construction.

thekovies  Lexiesnana blogs about her family–the funny things her grandkids do now and fascinating stories from her family history that she wants to preserve for her family’s enjoyment.  I love her outlook on life!

Delights and Shadows  This insightful and vulnerable blog is written by a lovely young woman we met in France before she went to college.  Her sharing comes from her heart!

Mere Inkling is a blog about writing and Christianity, named for the group of writers who included two of my favorites, C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkein.  C. S. Lewis, of course, is the author of the Chronicles of Narnia, which inspired our attic construction project.

Hope Refuge Farm  Kim and her husband sold us our first Dexter cow, and she is the author of a blog about how to buy and care for a dairy cow.  Her blog has not been updated recently, but it remains an extremely helpful resource for aspiring or actual owners of dairy cows.

I’ve notified the above bloggers of their nominations, and I hope you’ll check out their very deserving blogs–and leave them a comment to let them know of your visit!  It takes a lot of time to write a blog, and comments encourage them in their efforts.

The final requirement for accepting the Versatile Blogger award is to post 7 (hopefully!) interesting things about myself.  So here goes:

  1. I went to 11 schools from kindergarten through high school graduation because my parents moved so often.  And no, we weren’t in the military!
  2. The longest place I’ve lived anywhere is the 11 years we lived in the South of France.
  3. We were missionaries for 2 1/2 years in the Central African Republic from 1985-87.
  4. I began blogging in October 2009 at the urging of one of my daughters when I started writing “Adventures on Zephyr Hill Farm.”)
  5. I hope to start milking our Dexter heifer, Siobhan, this spring after she drops her first calf.
  6. I love horses and have two Tennessee Walking Horses, Angel and her daughter Brandy.  We bought a pony named Julie for our grandkids.
  7. I love genealogy, and I’m trying to preserve the stories of our family history for my children and grandchildren.

Thanks again, Ionia, for your nomination!  I hope I’m able to encourage other bloggers by “paying it forward!”

